Planet Fitness

Well between jet-lag and illness, hoping to get to the gym and put in a decent workout in a bit.

As mentioned, I currently belong to a Planet Fitness gym pretty close to my house.  Overall, it’s the 7th gym I’ve been a member of in my life.  It’s by far the cheapest, less than $10/month with promos for last two years.  For NY metro area..that is CHEAP.  Also, it’s near my house, so I can just go in gym clothes.  Even in the winter I use sweatpants instead of shorts and just add a sweatshirt.  So no need for locker room/gym lock/etc.

It’s also open 24 hours a day weekdays – I used to really struggle with 9 or 10pm closings at most gyms, since I don’t get home until 7:30 pm or later most nights.  It’s less flexible on weekends (7 – 7), when I wish it were open just another hour or two either end to fit a schedule that involves a pre-schooler and my other projects.  The gym does not have trainers or classes, which is fine by me – don’t use them and keeps the price down.

Overall, it works for me, lots of cardio machines, a decent range of weight machines (if a touch crowded at times) and some free weights, though if I ever get serious about free weights, time to find a new gym.

That said, it’s also one of the most amusing gyms I have ever been a member of, but not intentionally.  Some of it is the gym itself and how they do things to keep prices down and people joined and some of it is the type of people the low prices have brought in.

  1. Bucket of tootsie rolls at the entrance/exit.  Not a small bucket either.  140 calories a roll.  Most people skip, but the ones that don’t take just one.  Why would a gym have tootsie rolls on hand?
  2. Pizza Monday – first Monday of each month, free pizza.  When I roll in around 8/8:30 it’s pretty decimated, and there have to be 30-50 boxes on the table and they have cleared some off already.  Why oh why?  I’ve yet to partake, but why put temptation in front of people (see point 4).
  3. Bagel Tuesdays – second Tuesday of each month – I’ve yet to see it but I can only imagine the consumption of cream cheese and butter.
  4. Lots of people who make me look kind of healthy – Part I.  It’s the first gym I’ve been to where almost every session I see people in way worse shape than I am.  There are definitely lots of people in better shape too, but more unfit people than any other gym I’ve been in.  Makes me feel good about myself to compare.  I know PF is a “judgement free zone”, but not when I’m in it.
  5. Lots of people who make me look kind of healthy – Part II.  Some of those unhealthy people – the staff.  These are not your usual beautiful gym people staff.  When I first joined, at least 1/2 the staff were seriously out of shape.  We’re down to about a 1/4 these days, but I guess PF is not the best pay-master.
  6. Not for first time weight equipment users – Part I – part of joining such a low-cost gym is that there is no orientation session.  I see people using equipment in incorrect ways every time.  Every piece of equipment has a clear picture and instructions on it, but every week I see people doing the calf extension by bending their knees (as opposed to this way) or the ab rotation by rotating their entire body instead of pressing against the pads and only rotating the mid-section (like this way) and various other mistakes.  I will point out if someone is doing something really crazy, but mostly no one is interested.
  7. Not for first time weight equipment users – Part II – first gym I’ve ever been in where I need to explain the concept of rotating in between sets to someone using the equipment I am waiting for.  If you are going to do 2-3 quick sets I’ll wait.  If you want to do 10 sets with 3-5 min breaks in between, um, let’s rotate.
  8. Tanning booths.  No further comment.
  9. The odd things people wear – Part I – once watched a guy do an entire session dressed in khakis and a button-up/collared shirt.  He did have sneakers though.
  10. The odd things people wear – Part II – once watched a guy working out in a home-made sauna suit.  When I first noticed him, I thought even the homeless came to PF since all I could see was the top-half of a wild-haired, wild-eyed looking man on the elliptical literally wearing a hefty garbage bag with head and arm holes he had cut out (with nothing underneath as far as one could see through the overly large holes).  Thankfully, he had normal sweat pants on.

Edit/Update:  Boy am I glad I went.  Knocked the last of the feeling iffy out of me.  It also gave me a new point and reminded me of one I forgot.

  1. Not for the first time weight equipment users – Part III – this evening I watched a women do 4 sets of weight machines with a cell phone pressed between her shoulder and ear, including machines that are about moving the arms and shoulders.
  2. The odd things people wear – Part III – occasionally you see a kid running around playing cause their parents couldn’t find anyone (that part doesn’t bother me, I haven’t seen any one kid in there a lot), but I did see one 7 or 8 eight year old wearing a kid-size version of this t-shirt.  Cracked me for an kid.
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Fitness, Gyms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. hahahha…Nice description of PF. It’s a good thing you’re internally motivated to succeed in your 52in52 quest, because with that type environment there is little or no external support. Good luck, and I’m glad you’re feeling well enough to hit the weights. Regards, David

    • thanks – glad I did – put an update with some new items too. since I’ve already had orientation 6 times before I didn’t need it, especially since in regular gyms they always do the same schtick. OK person number one, you want to lose weight, person number 2 you want to gain muscle, and person number 3 you want to do marathon running. OK let’s start everyone with 20 minutes on the bike and then we’ll two sets of 10 on these 8 machines and then we cool down with 5 more minutes on the bike. very good – if you get bored with this, maybe you pay for some one on one sessions with me.

  2. PF is a special place indeed. I went to an open house once and knew it wasn’t for me. Whats up with the pizza and bagels? Weird. But anyway, glad you got your workout in and congrats on your loss so far, AND for commenting on my blog. 😉

  3. Wondering if 4 & 5 are a result of 1,2 & 3.

    I’ve heard of gyms offering free healthy breakfast but never cakes & pizzas. Perhaps it helps them get return customers.

  1. Pingback: More about my amusing gym.. « 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

  2. Pingback: Number 14 « 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

  3. Pingback: Number 15 « 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Leave a Reply

