MyFitnessPal and LiveStrong

Based on comments I had some quick looks at MyFitnessPal and LiveStrong  as well.

LiveStrong

Very quickly – didn’t get very far.  The registration and default login are Facebook-based and those parts of the screen are completely blocked at work.  (You don’t need to use FB, but that’s the default and so work blocks the whole dang thing even the X box to remove FB login).  Also the smartphone apps don’t exist for Android.  Absolutely no way for me to enter breakfast and lunch during the day then.  Quickly abandoned.

MyFitnessPal

Very similar in functionality to Lose It!  The food database seemed very similar.  The ability to create recipes and custom foods – the same.  MFP seemed to be more flexible in terms of entering how much you ate.  For non-Americans, it also supported the metric system.

Lets you have a weight ticker similar to what I use (which I maintain separately now and means keying in weights in multiple places).  In addition, also lets you track some basic measurements.  It also computed what seemed like a more reasonable daily calorie plan (that said – the Mayo Clinic calculator agrees mostly with Lose It!).  Entering historical weigh-ins equally lousy.

On exercise, very similar, but with weights you could record sets/reps/weights – though I found it was unable to accurately record my workout with it’s simple entry.  Reports and so on seem the same but Lose It’s seemed a little sharper.  Inability to produce links to those reports – the same.

Definitely more ads on the web-site.

So overall, seemed a touch more potent than Lose It!   But..

I just did not like the interface.  I found it clunky.  I started to enter a weeks worth of back data to match Lose It! and I gave up.  Just hated the interface that much.

Conclusion

So I am sticking with Lose It! for now.  But I recommend you try both and see which is your preference.  I probably would like MyFitnessPal if I had started with it.  Can’t recommend LiveStrong for anyone who needs work access and works at a company with Facebook blocks.

On Monday, I am going to have Lose It! auto post to my blog the weekly summary.  We’ll see how it goes.

Honorable Mention – Fitday.com

Darin suggested Fitday.  It was a late suggestion so I didn’t play with it much.  Seemed similar.  iPhone only for mobile which turned me off pretty quickly.  But worth a look.

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Exercise Log, Food Log, Software and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. thanks for all your research and reporting. I used MyFitnessPal before and found it pretty easy but I did it from the start. My new plan doesn’t require tracking so I fell away. I might go back just to keep myself honest and aware. Nice piece on this. Thanks!

  2. I am using Livestrong. The lack of an android app is a big negative, but I have adapted to it. (going old school by writing it down.) I didn’t sign in with my Facebook, but I do not have the work related IT issues to worry about at the moment.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board
    and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.

    I’m hoping to give one thing again and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

