And now for something completely different..

Got something exciting to share.  Well, it’s not the most earth-shattering news, but I’m excited!  As I mentioned, one of my hobbies is wood-working/furniture building (very amateur).  One of the blogs I follow, The Wood Whisperer, is running a charity project to build a child’s rocking horse and then donate it to a needy hospital/church/family/etc.  For every rocking horse that is donated, TWW will donate $1 to LiveStrong’s fight against cancer.  A number of corporate sponsors and private individuals will be matching TWW’s donation.

Since my workshop is a federal disaster zone right now due to some home remodeling, I cannot make one, but I am pleased to say I am one of the private individual’s making matching contributions.

The owner’s of the design (WOOD Magazine) will be making the plan freely available for a limited time (details to be hashed out).  Starting Sept 26, Marc from the Wood Whisperer is going to run some web-casts on his version of the build (the plans are usually pretty decent, but can all be fine-tuned, so I’d recommend going with what Marc does where there is a conflict).  The project is relatively straight-forward, well within amateur capabilities, and materials shouldn’t be too bad (1 sheet of 4′ x 2′ x 3/4″ wood is my understanding plus misc bits).  More seasoned builders can make their’s fancier.  It should roughly take 2-4 weekends to build depending on skill level.

So if you ever thought you’d like to try your hand at this kind of thing, this is a great project, with a free plan, supporting not one, but two great causes (and you can pick one of them!).  You can then build more for your own friends and family!

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on September 16, 2011, in Inspiration, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Given that I can’t put a nail in without doing some damage to the wall in which it’s installed, I won’t sign up. Great initiative though!
    Deb

  2. One time, I drilled a hole through a wardrobe door to attach the handle and I drilled a hole through the arm of my best suit. What do you think, should I enter the competition? Thought not 🙂

    • I was once was putting shelving onto a pantry door – modern mostly hollow construction door. I was drilling holes and using the lack of pressure to indicate I was thru into the soft middle. Instead of depth. I forgot the middle wasn’t hollow. I drilled thru the door and the wall behind it. All 4 holes.

      And I still do this stuff.

  3. Haha Paul Bentley!

    This sounds like a great initiative, it’s fantastic that even those who are unable to make a horse at the moment can contribute with donations. Well done!

Leave a Reply

