Weekly Weigh-In: Week 17

Weigh-In:

Category New Scale (lbs) Old Scale (lbs)
Starting Weight: 267 (estimate) 273
Target Weight: 215 221
End Of Week 16 Weight: 235.9 240
End Of Week 17 Weight: 232.7 237
Week Over Week Change: -3.2 -3
Total Weight Loss So Far: 34.3 36
Average Per Week So Far: 2.01 lbs/week 2.12 lbs/week


Crazy split week.  First-half spent doing high intensity gym attendance, excellent food eating.  Touched a new low of 232 on Thursday morning.  But I also knew it wouldn’t survive the weekend.  Thursday was my sister’s 30th.  Not only was it a birthday bash, it involved flying to the mid-west on Thursday, coming home on Saturday night.  So 2.5 days of travel/birthday.

The additional wrench in the plan – was hoping to sneak in one more gym visit Thursday morning before leaving.  A last-minute car issue meant I spent Thursday morning at the dealership racing against the clock to get it resolved so I actually could get to the airport.  So no mitigating gym workout (and a little bit of a heavy breakfast for Thursday also reflected some poor planning on my part).

Overall, weekend went a little worse than I thought it would:

  • Drank more beer than I thought I would (brewery tour on Friday didn’t help).
  • Definitely could have made some better food choices Thursday night and Friday lunch.

That said, there were small victories to be had:

  • Went to the hotel gym once as planned (flights/plans didn’t really allow for much more).
  • Ate well at breakfast Friday/Saturday, despite being an open buffet (and despite it all looking pretty decent to be honest).
  • No hotel junk food grazing or vending machines.
  • Did not graze my way along the farmer’s market cheese / bread / sausage samples as I could have (some samples were had, but enjoyed in moderation).
  • Got sweet potato fries at lunch on Friday instead of regular (no salad option, too late a lunch to not eat them).
  • Given the option to walk back from my sister’s to the hotel Friday afternoon, I took it (1.5 miles at 3 mph – yay phone GPS for making it possible).
  • Got pretty back on plan Saturday.  Lunch at layover came with unnecessary roasted potatoes I skipped 95% of.
I hope about a little more comes back off next few days as I get sodium and beer out of the system.
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Weekly Weigh-in and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like your site. Overall, it is very organized. I also like how you record small victories instead of just dwelling on the mess ups of your week/weekend. It is very inspirational! I will probably visit your site regularly to glean some wisdom for my own weight loss journey!

    Julie Geer
    http://myjourney2abetterlife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

