My Infinite Playlist

I pretty much have two speeds – 1) inanimate object and 2) as fast as I can go.  I don’t really like slow or medium, mostly from my weight, once I get going it’s easier to maintain it (see Newton’s first law of physics) – whereas ambling, strolling, etc all require some of regular pacing control that wears me out faster than going fast.

Same on the cardio machines – I like to keep as intense a pace as possible.  I’m not buying into the whole go-slow, fat burning mode.  At my weight, total calorie deficit is what matters, and that requires as much intensity as I can maintain (or interval training).  On the elliptical I warm up around 6.x mph for a few minutes and then crank into the mid-7’s.  If I am feeling extra sparky, the low 8’s.  Those are 7.5-8.0 minute miles (indoors, elliptical, not comparable to running where my pace would be snail-like).  For the final two minutes, I try to pound out as fast as I can go in a final sprint.  9.x, 10.x if I feel psychotic, 11.x+ if I feel psychotic AND energetic.  At around 12 or so it just stops tracking and shows you the same number flashing over and over again – an electronic “W.T.F. are you doing!  Stop it!  Stop it !  %^%^#$$#.  Well fine, I won’t tell you your speed then.”).

Sometimes that desire to ‘go’ comes entirely from within.  And sometimes …  I need a little help.  I need pumping music to make that happen for 20-30 minutes.  By pumping I mean – a) has a good rhythm and b) either makes me feel good or c) makes me feel bad-ass or d) makes me remember things that make be feel b or c.  These are my cardio go-to songs.  I listen to other stuff as well, but those songs get skipped when I need to make the feet go up and down at a ridiculous pace.

My musical tastes are diversish so I categorized very roughly into Classics/Rock, Light Metal, Club/Hip-Hop/Rap, Techno/Electronica.  A lot of the videos are bad, cheesy, or lame, so just listen.  Sometimes they start a little slow, but they get there.

Feel free to make suggestions and share what gets you going.

Classics/Pop/Rock
A Girl Like You – Edwyn Collins
A Little Less Conversation – Elvis Presley OR JXL Remix
All Along The Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix Version
Are You Gonna Go My Way – Lenny Kravitz
Better Now – Collective Soul – you know it!
Breathless – The Corrs
Go Your Own Way – Fleetwood Mac
I Don’t Want To Be – Gavin DeGraw
I Won’t Back Down – Tom Petty – obviously
It’s My Life – Bon Jovi – absolutely
Let’s Go Crazy – Prince
Life Is A Highway – Tom Cochrane – came out not too long after I got my wheels
Livin’ On A Prayer – Bon Jovi
Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 – skip first minute of video
Paint It Black – Rolling Stones
Plowed – Sponge
Rock ‘n’ Roll Girls – John Fogerty – sometimes i think, life is just a rooooo-deee-o
Rockin’ In The Free World – Neil Young
Rolling In The Deep – Adele – not traditional drive, but when she gets going there’s somethin – also the drummer is in the corner where he belongs
Smooth – Santana/Rob Thomas
Start Me Up / Livin On A Prayer – Glee Cast
Sunday Bloody Sunday – U2
The Girl’s Attractive – Diamond Nights
The Look – Roxette
The Passenger – Iggy Pop
There Will Never Be Another Tonight – Bryan Adams
Travelin’ Band – Creedance Clearwater Revival
We Weren’t Born To Follow – Bon Jovi
What A Wonderful World – Joey Ramone – skip annoying 45 second intro

Hard Rock/Light Metal
Call To Arms – Manowar
Carry On – Manowar
Cradle Of Love – Billy Idol
Crazy Train – Ozzy Osbourne
Dancing With Myself – Billy Idol
Hand Of Doom – Manowar
It’s Not My Time – 3 Doors Down – nope
Kickstart My Heart – Motley Crue
King Of Kings – Manowar
Kings Of Metal – Manowar – yea, I like manowar I guess
Kryptonite – 3 Doors Down
More Human Than Human – White Zombie
Propane Nightmares – Pendulum
Rainbow In The Dark – Dio
Shoot To Thrill – AC/DC
Warriors Of The World – Manowar
Wherever I May Roam – Metallica
White Wedding – Billy Idol
Zero – Smashing Pumpkins

Club/Hip-Hop/Rap
100% Pure Love – Crystal Waters
A Little Less Conversation – Elvis Presley OR JXL Remix – I find it interesting how much of the ‘pop’ in this is actually in the original.
ABC – Jackson 5
Born This Way – Lady Gaga – “I’m on the right track, baby I was born this way!” (skip annoying 2 1/2 minute intro)
Box n Locks (Armind Van Helden Remix) – Mpho
Bulletproof – La Roux – can’t help but think of the cantina band from star wars whenever I hear this
Celebrity – All Night Dynamite
Come Baby Come – K7
Crazy – Gnarls Barkley
Don’t Call Me Baby – Madison Avenue – not really a dude song, but kickin beat
Don’t Stop Movin‘ – S Club 7
Don’t Stop The Music – Rihanna
Funky Cold Medina – Tone-Loc
Get This Party Started – Pink
Hello – Martin Solveig & Dragonette
Hey Baby – DJ Otzi
Hot N Cold – Katy Perry
I Like It – Enrique Iglesias
I Like It Like That – Tito Nieves
I Wanna Go – Britney Spears
Jump (For My Love) – Girls Aloud Remix
Last Friday Night – Katy Perry
Livin’ La Vida Loca – Ricky Martin
Lose Yourself – Eminem
Make Luv (Remix) – Room 5
O.P.P. – Naughty By Nature – good beat and good friends of ours danced to this at their wedding for a laugh
Oh..Canada – Classified – CANADA!  I can only imagine what anyone around me thinks when I pump it
Ooh Aah .. Just A Little Bit – Gina G – stop judging me
Pon de Replay – Rihanna
Raise Your Glass – Pink – raise your glass if you are wrong in all the right ways!
Rhythm Of The Night – Corona
Rhythm Is A Dancer – Snap
Ride Wit Me – Nelly – no I am NOT a nerdy middle aged white boy, well OK I am, but anyway
Round Round – Sugarbabes – again, not exactly a guy song, but..
Rubberneckin’ (Paul Oakenfield) – Elvis Presley
SexyBack – Justin Timberlake – no link available
Sun Is Shining (Remix) – Bob Marley
Tik Tok – Ke$sha – horrible song, horrible singer, I refuse to link it. But still the chorus gets me going.
Tubthumping – Chumbawamba

Techno/Electronica

For any daft punk, highly recommend the Alive 2007 remixes.

Aerodynamic – Daft Punk (multiple versions)
Around The World – Daft Punk
Barbara Streisand – Duck Sauce – wooo ooo ooo ooo oo ooooo oooo barbara streisand
Busy Child – Crystal Method – you remember it from this.
Club Thrall – Myndflame – my gaming days show up here…
Cowboy 78 (Guitarpella) – Fatboy Slim
Destination Calabria (Club Mix) – Alex Guadino/Crystal Waters
Dogzilla (Simon Patterson) – Dogzilla – you need to like Frozen two down to like this one.
Flashdance – Deep Dish
Frozen – Dogzilla
Harder Better Faster Stronger – Daft Punk
Heads Will Roll (Little Vampire Remix) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs (link is to original which is pretty good, but has a little less drive)
I See You Baby – Fayboy Slim/Groove Armada
Infinity (Klaas Vocal Mix) – Guru Josh Project – here’s my key, philosophy.  A freak like me just needs infinity!
Loca – Mint Royale
No Time To Waste – Wildstylez
Oh Yeah – Yello – Ferris Bueller’s Day Off!
One More Time – Daft Punk
Praan – Garry Schyman – also a great story at www.wherethehellismatt.com
Right Here, Right Now – Fatboy Slim
Rods And Cones – Blue Man Group
Satisfaction – Benny Benassi
Starting Over – Crystal Method
Strict Machine – Goldfrapp
Thriller / Heads Will Roll – Glee Cast
Zocalo – Armin Van Buuren

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on October 12, 2011, in Exercise, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Your list reminds me that I’m going to have to have a talk with whoever controls the radio at the gym. Stairway to Heaven is many things, but it is not work-out music. Ditto Hotel California.

    I think gyms should schedule DJs or theme music times – I’d love to have cardio Thursdays with Stax, Motown, soul, and funk, or 80s power pop Tuesdays.

    My husband has VERY STRONG OPINIONS about music for working out. He spins, and has discovered Rhianna. Generally, his tastes run more to 60s one-hit wonders. I’m pretty sure he is going to go to her next concert, although I think he’ll be frustrated that he can’t work out while listening.

    This really gets me going – sorry if I’ve shared before:
    Robert Randolph & The Family Band
    Ain’t Nothing Wrong with That

    Kick that machine into the ground! How dare it not give you a read-out at top speed!

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Best Reads « Journey to The Perfect Me

Leave a Reply

