Sanity Check

As you may have noticed, I’m someone who likes to have a stretch goal (not a plan mind you, but a goal). It gets me pepped, and gets the creative juices going thinking about how to achieve it and helps keep me motivated. And I’ve been conteplating a new one since things have been going so well.
My original post talked about my 40th coming up next year, and how if I had a big party, I’d like not to be the center of physical gravity in the room. I’m sort of leaning against a big do now (in who nows, the mood may change again in the next 6 months). But I am contemplating something that seems fairly ambitious to me but that I would possibly need to decide shortly..

2012 NYC Marathon

I’m not currently a runner, and yeah, I’m still just over the obese line.  But I used to enjoy it 19 years ago when I weighed 188. I realize I’d be trying to essentially go from 0 to 26.2 miles in slightly less than a year (it’s in early November). Oh and let’s not forget, I’m crazy – just finishing isn’t enough, I gotta have a good time too. Preferably the best time.  (Oh and I’d want to be trying out the tarahumara running style [with shoes]).

The reason for the decision now is that for about the same money as a big party, I can get myself a guaranteed spot right now. Otherwise it’s go for the lottery or for a charity sponsor (which would probably cost me more since you have to raise a hefty chunk of money for the charity and cover the delta from the minimum). I’d hate to give up a party and not get in. Plus having paid for it would be a big motivator to train for it. (And on the other hand, if it looks real bad, I can defer my entry by one year).

Also compounding the craziness – I mentioned it to my best friend as a long shot and he came back with saying he always wanted to do it too.  So I’d have a training buddy to a limited degree.

So how crazy am I?

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Fitness, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. On a scale of 1-10?
    If having a goal helps motivate you then do it! My one question would be – what would constitute a good time?

  2. Just crazy enough … why not go for it? I just finished week 1 of the Couch to 5K plan, so I’m feeling like anything is possible. 🙂

  3. What a great goal! Definitely something to look back on and remember!

    Deb

  4. I’ve dreamt about running a full marathon since I was in high school…it is written again and again on my list of things to do…lists gathering dust in my hope chest. Until this year when I dusted off half of them and ran the Army Run Half Marathon…it was amazing…now with butterflies in my tummy I have committed to do a FULL in May…..

    I think its time to make those dreams come true 🙂 GO FOR IT!!!

  5. I’m crazy, too, so I say go for it! 😉 That would definitely be a *great* motivator (especially, as you said, since you’ll be paying for it).

    -Erica

  6. that is a great long term goal J! If I can train for a 5k at 55 in a few months you can do this. There are lots of running clubs that help you get there too. Parties are great also, maybe you can do a small party and train for the Marathon too. A little fun never hurt anyone either. JUST DO IT!

  7. Well only one person has told me I’m insane and the wife is on board. So looking defintely maybe. Will decide this weekend I think.

  1. Pingback: The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-51 Week. « 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Leave a Reply

