The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-48 Week.

This post probably would make more sense if you read last weeks and saw the books I got.

So first off, you may have noticed I added a calendar a few days ago to the blog.  I’ve been contemplating the post C25K training program and wanted to lay out the timings of the program to see how the dates fell with some of the different options (hence the calendar of many colors [err it’s many colors if you load it in google calendar, the big link less colorful]).

The Galloway program is 30 weeks long.  The Higdon, Northern Iowa program and the Cool Runnings programs all run 16-20 weeks.    I actually have enough time to do the non-Galloway programs twice before NYC Marathon which is a pretty interesting idea.  Or I could do one of them and then another.  (Say Northern Iowa followed by Higdon Novice Level 2).

I’d be able to time the first pass such that I could do a 10k or 1/2 marathon in May at the Long Island Marathon.  This would still leave me with a fair few weeks between the end of C25K and the start of any of these programs.

So my thoughts are – a) finish C25K.  b) Spend the free weeks buffing up the runs to 4 miles solid while outdoors so that c)  whichever way I start, the starting weeks are good to go.  I’m very tempted to start with Northern Iowa program first pass and then move to a Higdon plan or repeat Iowa.

Highlights:

  • Completed C25K Week 3, started Week 4.  Felt good.  Getting close to 3 mile mark.
  • Snazzy Google Calendaring.
  • Picked up some outdoor running clothes / safety equipment (some of my running will be at night).
Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 7.32 miles 23.97 miles
Longest Run: 2.92 miles 2.92 miles
Longest Run Time: 31:37 mm:ss 31:37 mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 10:50 min/mile 10:50 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’m so impressed that you’re planning on doing a marathon! Ugh…I don’t even have a desire. I want to have a desire, though!

  2. J., You are so methodical in your approach; this is going to be very interesting to follow.

    Good luck,
    David

    • I think the word you were looking for was obsessive 🙂

      What’s funny is that in most things I’m very much of a 80% when it comes to planning and effort and my wife is the OCD one.

  3. Definitely pulling for you! Quick question maybe you could help me out… As a guy who is overweight.. is there a certain running shoe I should snag? I am not sure if you got any advice on what kind of shoes to buy – I seem to always have problem with the arches of my feet.

    K.

    • I’m definitely not the expert, I’ve always bought gym shoes on the not too cheap / not too pricey decision model.

      That said, I happened to be doing some reading on that very topic this week in my Northern Iowa book. I was reading the book so I can’t link it, but this link seems to have the same info, if not a touch more. But it boils down to, there are 3 kinds of shoes 3 kinds of feet and 3 kinds of running gaits.

      http://www.therunningadvisor.com/running_shoes.html

      Personally, I found running / walking at my higher weights deeply unpleasant in the knee area (I have thunder thighs and thin calves) and it’s not until my current weight that I find it sustainable (even 20 pounds higher was not nice). I know there are lots of people who lost lots of weight on the treadmill, but I’ve always preferred the no impact machines early on.

  4. reference running shoes, I went to an independent sports store that managed the races in our area. they have been very knowledgable to fit me to the correct shoes for my type, weight and activity level. I have had no shin splints, blisters, problems AT ALL! Getting the right shoe is crudial to your success. I pay about $100.00 for mine which is kind of mid range. I wouldn’t do it any other way.

  5. I look forward to following your progress! I hope to ride in the NYC century ride this coming year. Did you post the date of the run? Let me go back and see.

Leave a Reply

