Food Review: Newtons Fruit Thins and DelMonte Fruit Chillers Tubes

Newtons Fruit Thins:

Specifically Fig and Honey version.  I finished the last of these today, December 31, 2011.  I originally bought them as a way to increase whole wheat foods.  My first recorded entry I can find of them in the tracker is Oct 12.  This should be a good indicator of how very resistible they were.

I’ll also comment that there must be some good chemicals in there, since they pretty much tasted the same right up to the end.  Only the last two I had (the very last one went to the dog) began to get (slightly) stiffer and (slightly) stale.

Edit:  The dog seemed more than happy enough to eat more of them if I’d had any.

Overall, they aren’t bad.  They just aren’t good.  And at around 48 calories a cookie (recommended serving size – 3 cookies for 145 calories), it’s tough to eat them when they were more flavorful/healthier options around.

I’m a big fan of the original Fig Newtons so I was hopeful.  Unlikely to be purchased again.  I did just buy their bars, we’ll see.

Del Monte Fruit Chillers

Specifically Arctic Strawberry Tubes.  I saw these somewhere in the supermarket (not frozen, possibly juice aisle), saw they claimed to be made of real fruit (1 lb!) and were 55 calories per tube and decided to give them a whirl.  Edit – I forgot I was also thinking the kid might like them too (nope!).

Opening up the first tube, I questioned my sanity and lowered my expectations.  I was shocked when it turned out really tasty.  I was expecting a red ice pop with minimal flavor.  Definitely has a lot of taste.  The main thing giving me pause about them is they seem pretty high in sugar.  11g per tube and the third ingredient in the list.  Which is probably why I like the taste so much.

All in all I would say, not as good as a healthy snack (real fruit), but better than ice cream or cake.  So I plan to include these on occasion in future as a ‘naughty’ snack.

Oh and wear a bib, these things stain!

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Food Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

