The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-45 Week.

Highlights:

  • Completed C25K Week 6, started Week 7 (we’re up to 25 minute runs).
  • Mid-week run was 2nd outdoor run.  Again, faster than I was doing on the treadmill (10:30 avg including warm-up/cool-down vs around 10:45-10:50).  Since this is all backwards, this told me that it’s not the body holding me back on the machine, but the brain.  For Sunday’s machine session I pushed it up and was able to sustain a faster pace than I was doing outdoors.  (9:50 avg including warm-up / cool-down).
  • I’m actually already running 5k now.
  • Not sure if I am finding running addictive or not yet, but certainly the gadgetry associated with Run Keeper GPS tracking and the maps/analysis it provides certainly is.
  • I mentioned it before, the Run Nassau Series/LI Marathon.  Actually signed up this week – 5k/4m/5m/4m and half-marathon in May.
Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 9.92 miles 51.47 miles
Longest Run: 3.54 miles 3.54 miles
Longest Run Time: 35:13 mm:ss 35:13 mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:50 min/mile 9:50 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When is the NYC Marathon? I was, briefly, on the track team in high school. Never really got hooked on it. Then I found cycling, that, I really enjoyed. Eventually trained up and did Metric Centuries (100K) on a regular basis and did the Hotter than Hell Ride (100 miles) one year.

    Wishing you success with your training. Keep us posted as to your progress. 🙂

    • Nov 4 this year (it’s usually first Sunday of Nov as far as I can tell) so lots of time still. I can’t say I yet harbor any desire to be a lifelong runner, but I do feel strongly about finishing a marathon once.

      Cycling could be interesting, my kid will be old enough soon to start going for rides. I don’t really like the stationary bike at the gym, but a lot of that is about it being a stationary bike and effectiveness vs some of the other machines for cardio. Real biking I could probably get into.

      Triathlons, now, that seems vaguely interesting.

Leave a Reply

