Phase III Goals

Phase II is still in progress, but we’re close enough to start laying out the parameters for the next phase.  Unfortunately for you, this is not a choose my adventure kind of project this time.  I’ve always known what the next target was going to be, and my experience with Phase II has pretty much decided the timeline goal.

Goal

187 pounds.  Phase II pretty much brings me back to roughly where I was when I met the wife.  I don’t remember if my all-time adult low from 20 years ago was 188 or 189.  187 will be a new low no matter what.  No, this is not my final target either.  There will be a Phase IV for sure (at least).

Timeline

I’m going back to a pound a week target.  Before you judge..

Regardless of whether I achieve the Phase II timeline or not, I simply did not enjoy it as a phase.  I found the calorie target for the day ‘too low’ and it was stressing me on many days, whereas Phase I went by with barely any days like that.

Now there are lots of reasons to say I am too strict with the target:

1)  I prefer to have a 100-200 calorie buffer to allow for estimation error.  I found I could simply not do it with the lower target (250 calories difference).  Honestly, I wouldn’t have eaten a heck of a lot more, maybe 50-100 calories, but just knowing I was under and had a little buffer for errors was way more relaxing.

2)  I prefer not to eat my exercise calories.  First off, there’s lots of reasons to believe the machines give you high numbers.  Second, I have reason to believe I have a lower than normal metabolism so my daily intake targets are a little high anyway.  I found, again, I was dipping into them a little way more frequently than I liked.  When it was the combination of the lower target, plus lower calories from the early part of C25K, really made for some days where I was cursing the whole thing.

3)  I worry about hitting maintenance eventually.  Adding 500 calories a day is going to be interesting without going crazy, adding 750 would seem insane.

Obviously, doing a 1 pound a week target, but leaving a buffer and not eating exercise calories means I really am aiming higher without claiming to, but it fits my general professional motto anyway which is to ‘Underpromise, overdeliver’.

Anyway, time to get cracking on finishing off this Phase II first!

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Diet, Exercise, Food, Personal, Weight Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Don’t blame you for going back to a 1lb a week target. Anything else is a bonus! Good luck with it, not that you’ll need it.

  1. Pingback: Fitblogger « 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

  2. Pingback: Under-promise, Over-deliver « 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Leave a Reply

