The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-40 Week.

Highlights:

  • Broke through 100 miles trained this week.
  • Completed Bridge-2-10K Week 1 (run 4x10min).  First day I took a 2 minute breather before the final run instead of 1 minute, but did it as planned.
  • Starting to definitely feel it this week.  Some minor blisters, and a little soreness.  Trying to decide if I will repeat week 1 or move to week 2.  Mostly, I’m not sure if it’s me or the shoes (probably both) and I’m a little hesitant to push it right now, especially since I don’t need to.
  • First competitive 5K run is next Saturday here (thankfully the musketeers are not on duty next weekend!).
  • Running has largely eliminated the 2nd cardio session from my fitness plans on Sundays and Wednesdays.  It’s even impacting the weights on Fridays as I’m pretty bushed after my run.
Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 16.57 miles 114.88 miles
Longest Run: 5.54 miles 5.54 miles
Longest Run Time: 53:48 mm:ss 53:48 mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:43 min/mile 9:43 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. awesome news on your gains. My buddy Chuck uses tape to keep his feet from blistering. Want me to ask him what he uses??

  2. I think it’s fair to say that when you are training for something specific it can play havoc with your ‘usual’ schedule, especially when running is involved. The thing is, you are doing great, that’s a no brainer.

    Re blisters. Could be socks or shoes.

    If they are on the heel could be socks, especially if usually okay in those shoes. I have one pair of Nike DryFit socks and they are fantantic (although expensive for socks).

    If under the foot, try a pair of inner soles for extra cushioning.

    It could be that the shoes are just tired and worn.

    • I have those socks too :;

      One on the heel I figure is just me toughening up. One on the top in side of the big toe I think is the shoe. Also generally I feel less support and cushion noticeably from the first run. The shoes are two and a half years old and had a fair amount of exercise on them already.

  3. great job J. Good luck on your 5k! YOu will do great.

    • Thanks the big concern is the 1-3 inches of snow we are getting tonight! They believe things will proceed as planned unless we get more than that.

Leave a Reply

