Mystery Solved

Or so it seems likely.  So this never ending cough / cold I seem to have seems to have a ‘root’ cause.  I have a tooth infection.  That can causes what feels like a throat infection.  Sadly, this is the second time this has happened to me.  The first time though, the infection and actual pain were relatively close apart.  This has been going on for months now, and I only felt a twinge of pain recently.  So I’ll be getting a root canal tomorrow (those guys have good drugs) and we’ll be treating the infection.

For the record I have terrible teeth to begin with,- it took some years of braces as a kid to mold my mouth into something resembling a useful a bite where a dentist who didn’t know better might recommend I get braces now to straighten them out.  I had majorly impacted wisdom teeth (one was sideways apparently) which were removed a long time ago.  Add a number of years of neglect and poor care on my part and I’ve had my share of dental work.

The unfortunate issue is that we seem to be coming back to the same teeth – well meaning dentist will say ‘ok there’s a cavity here, let’s save the tooth and fill it.’  But the new form of the tooth becomes an even bigger area for food to get stuck and eventually we wind up with a crown and/or root canal.  The majority of dental work I’ve had over the last 10 years has been on the same 4-5 teeth.

However, if it means I can finally get rid of this cough – hurrah!

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on March 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hope you get better soon & it doesn’t interfere too much in your training!

Leave a Reply

