The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-31 Week.

Weekly Highlights:

  • RunNassau 5 miler race – 40:04.4 official time.  91st place out of 389.  In my age group, about middle of the pack.  If I bump myself to the next age group (next month eek!), slightly  better, but still middling.  I’ll take it since last year would have been not on the list at all!
  • Northern Iowa Week 4 +.  Should have been 3 miles, 5, miles, 3 miles, and 8 miles.  Because of the Saturday race, I rejigged my days to 3, 5, 5, 8.
  • The 8 miler was a little slow since I was tired from 5 mile race day before.  Did it in between easter baskets and easter egg hunt.
  • The little one was not pleased to wait for the hunt 😉
  • Also some stop/start on the 8 miler – a) to sort out some drawstrings at first and b) later, to strip off the outer layer.  It’s cold enough to warrant the outer layer at first, but warm enough that it gets hot.
  • Busted through 20 miles for the week.
Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 23.02 miles 278.35 miles
Longest Run: 8.63 miles 9.39 miles
Longest Run Time: 1:24:54 hh:mm:ss 1:26:54 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:50 min/mile 9:15 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had to move into a new age category recently … I’m still getting used to checking one box down! All I can say is that the women I’ll be competing against in this age group – 40s – sure are fast.

    • yes, I was pretty much dead middle for 35-39 group (and the spread was pretty tight with most people being +/- 10 minutes. If I looked at 40-45 group I was only about 2 slots better than dead middle, and the spread was still pretty tight.

Leave a Reply

