The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-26 Week.

Weekly Highlights:

  • Northern Iowa Week 9.  4,7,4, 16.  16!  13.1 seems easy in comparison.
  • Yep – 6 months to go to NYC marathon!
  • First week I was sore more than normal on Monday.  And TIRED!  Felt like I spent half of Monday only half-awake.
  • Had a really nice run on the long run for most of it – went to a trail where it is about 14.  I extended as recommended by running slightly off the trail at the mid-point into the neighborhood which was supposed to stretch it to 15, but not quite really.  I had hoped the other small area I started in had a path I could run down at the end, but not really either.  So I spent the last 1.5 miles or so doing circles in the parking lot, which was..NOT FUN.  Especially at the end, where I am talking myself into finishing and not stopping at 15.
  • Thankfully next week we stay at 16.  Definitely not ready for 18 yet.
  • Saw lots of other runners/bikers/walkers tho, including a few wearing their shirts from last weeks area marathon (I was wearing my NYC 2012 Training shirt so pfft!)
  • Nearly 2k calorie burn.
Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 33.37 miles 418.08 miles
Longest Run: 16.51 miles 16.51 miles
Longest Run Time: 2:32:08 hh:mm:ss 2:32:08 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:13 min/mile 9:13 min/mile

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Considering I am not allowed to run even 5 feet, you can color me all sorts of jealous, J! LOL – I would *love* to be able to run on pavement…even just a half mile at this point! Maybe someday…a girl can dream. 🙂

    You, sir, are an inspiration! Keep rocking it!!!

    -Erica

Leave a comment