The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-21 Week

Week 1 of (mostly) non-running.  Been a bit weird trying to work out the limits of the knee, attempting to push it while not pushing it over the edge.  The knee has been feeling alright since mid-week but the legs have been stiff and sore.  Initially from compensating from the knee, but I’ve been using machines (elliptical, arc trainer, bike) that I haven’t used in a while.  I did a lot more weights this week, focusing on the legs to stretch and see how they felt strength-wise.  Low weights tho.

I also went swimming instead of running this weekend.  I never was involved in anything sports like with water sports, but growing up we had a pool and I was in the water a lot.  So I know how to swim.  But I guess not doing something for 20 years means you lose some skills.  I was sucking air after each lap.  I also found that indeed, being skinnier means less natural buoyancy.

My one run of the week was a short one – the JP Morgan Chase Corporate Challenge 5K in Central Park.  It was crazy.  There were 15,000 runners.  It was so jammed up that they had trouble getting people to the start line for their assigned waves.  It took me almost as long to get to start line as it did to run the race.  28 minutes to run the race, 16 minutes to get to the start line.  Dodging people the entire time.  I think I ran almost as far side-to-side as I did forward.  It wasn’t until 2 miles in that it vaguely thinned out.  It also seemed a bit over-stationed for a 5k race – 3 water stations for a 3.5 mile race.

Been less diligent about the stretching exercises and icing which I need to keep doing.  Based on how things feel I am going to leave it another week.  Been feeling OK but want to not rush in before it completely heals though.

Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 4.07 miles 565.23 miles
Longest Run: 4.07 miles 18.52 miles
Longest Run Time: 0:34:44 hh:mm:ss 2:47:44 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 8:33 min/mile 9:04 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on June 18, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

