The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-9 Week

Week 8 of training – 4, 6, 4, 14.  Actually 2 miles short this week – I was supposed to do four miles on Friday, but just was not feeling – felt sore and tired.  Up to that point it had not been a fun week feeling wise and I think the excesses of speed the previous two weeks were still factoring in.  Decided I’d rather cut Friday short on a 4 miler rather than risk Sunday’s 14 miler.  Thankfully, the 14 miler went pretty smoothly so I’m glad I did.  No direct comparison to last time around – during the previous training, I skipped the 14 miler and ran it as the Long Island Half-Marathon.  At the time, I found the jump up to 16 from 13.1 a bit rough, so I’m hoping sticking to the program this time will make it a bit more manageable.  I ran the the 14 miler with the IT-band on as well as the knee band on – I decided to be pre-emptive.

I also again felt the shoes were feeling a bit thin support wise.  Bought a new pair at the store this afternoon, and indeed, trying on the new pair at the store I could feel significant more support.  I’m disappointed to be changing them quite at this point, and if we weren’t so close to race day, I’d reconsider the ones I’m using.  But the Mizuno Wave Inspire 8’s have been working for me, just not lasting.  That could be the shoe, my strike pattern, my weight, so it’s not clear it’s the shoe.  We’ll experiment maybe when this pair wear out.

Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 28.59 miles 770.43 miles
Longest Run: 14.49 miles 18.00 miles
Longest Run Time: 2:11.38 hh:mm:ss 2:47:44 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:05 min/mile 9:04 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Apols if I missed a post. Are you doing the marathon for charity? Do you have a goal time for the marathon or just aiming to finish? Not long now!

    • I am doing it for a charity but that was the way in to the race. I decided to do it as a way of maintaining the momentum i built last year.

      All the pros tell first timers not to target a time. I am trying not to. But being a bit competitive i cant help it. But i am keeping it to myself.

Leave a Reply

