The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-5 Week

Week 12 of training – final week of 5, 8, 5, 18 was the plan.  I mentioned yesterday that I was actually at a conference last week in San Francisco.  Despite a lot of failure on the food side, I did pretty well on the training side.  I got my first 5 in (tho the treadmill at the hotel died on me on the final quarter mile – close enough), and I got my 8 miler in (lovely outdoor run along the bay of S.F.).  The final 5 miler was missed due to some poor planning on my part (I forgot to factor in packing time).  However, later that day I got some free time in and got a 9 mile walk in, so I count it as a reasonable substitute, but won’t count it towards my mileage.

Then back home on Sunday got my 18 miler in.  Was .. not .. feeling it.  Not sure if it was the change in weather (back to long pants/sleeves) or the jet-lag but was not physically or mentally in the mood to run.  Did it anyway.  Took me about 2 minutes longer than my last 18 miler in June.  Considering weather I should have been faster this week, but I can tell I wasn’t on game – not a single sub-8 mile, and I usually clock at least the first 2 at sub-8.  That said I did it.  Only one more 18 miler to go!

In other exciting news, based on current trends, that final training run in the final week is going to pop me over the 1,000 miles run marker (RunKeeper already has me over 1k, but it is including stationary bike and swimming and walking distances).

Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 32.35 miles 909.38 miles
Longest Run: 18.54 miles 18.54 miles
Longest Run Time: 2:50:01 hh:mm:ss 2:50:01 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:10 min/mile 9:10 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

