T-20/T-45 – Planning

Seems like about this time last year, I was doing a fair amount of training program research.  I’ve been contemplating what I wanted to do for this time around.  I’ve already done the Northern Iowa training program twice now.  Even tho I haven’t run a marathon, I figured I could probably up the ante a little bit a think about going for a more intermediate program.  I also realized I was going to have to make a decision pretty quick since the 18 week programs would need to start soon.

However, after looking a few of them over, I’m opting to retrain with n.i.  This hal higdon program is pretty typical.  It’s not that I don’t think I could physically do it.  It’s that they all have an additional time commitment, mostly adding more time on the weekend (running both days) and some of them cross-train on another weeknight.  I just don’t have the time to do anything remotely like that.  Northern Iowa with 4 runs a week is just about doable (I missed one run I think on the last round).  But there is no way I could up workouts that much.  So N.I. it is for the Long Island Marathon.

On the plus side I can enjoy my New Year’s Eve instead of first run of a 20-weeker.

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on December 18, 2012, in Marathon. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

