T-11/T-36 – Trip Like I Do

OK February knock it off – 29 feels like 17!  Fortunately, the wind wasn’t as bad as advertised, a bit at beginning, a bit at end (with grit it face and mouth yum!) and some in the middle (mostly pushing me not against me – so cold, but helping me go faster).

We also went back to double digit runs – 10 miler.  I stumbled early on and around 9.5/9.75 flat out fell over on some uneven sidewalk.  One benefit to the cold – layers – hands are fine thanks to two pairs of gloves and I was lucky – managed to hit above the knee.  Was back up and going inside a minute.

I am definitely slower this time around.  This 10 miler was about 6 minutes slower than my last.  Discount 1 of those from the fall.  Most of the speed loss appears on the front half – I no longer zip along at 7 1/2 minute miles for the first mile or two.  Flat 8 1/2 – 9 ers all the way (numbers below include warm-up/cool-downs and interim breaks for drinks/etc).

Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 23.42 miles 101.17 miles
Longest Run: 10.59 miles 10.59 miles
Longest Run Time: 1:44:30 hh:mm:ss 1:44:30 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:52 min/mile 9:52 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

