T-16/T-41 – On your marks…

And so we begin this week.

16 weeks to May 5, for the Long Island Marathon.  First official run begins tomorrow, a nice 3 miler.

Been trying to plan my sneaker replacements.  Don’t want a repeat of last May where I overused them and had to take a few weeks off from knee problems partly from shoe overuse.  And I’ve been using my last pair a while now.  But if I replace now, I’ll need to replace again very near the LI Marathon.  So I think I’ll wait about 4 weeks of training before we get to double digit runs and that should work out.

I did my final stair master cardio on Saturday.  I’ll miss the zone-out workout.  We’ll be back on the treadmill for 2 runs a week for the foreseeable future.  Most likely will pan out as per last time – treadmill + light weights 2x a week and 2x outdoor runs for the medium/long runs, with the weights scaling back towards the end as well (even light weight routine is rough after 5 miles on the treadmill).

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on January 14, 2013, in Marathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

