The Road To 2012 NYC Marathon – Summary of T-23 Week.

Weekly Highlights:

  • Crazy realization of the day – I was pumped to do the half-marathon on May 6th.  I realize I’ve done 4 more since then (actually more since 14 was the minimum).  That’s 5 weeks in a row of half-marathons or longer.  Wow!
  • Northern Iowa Week 12.  5,8,5, 18.  18 is the max training for this particular program, and next week is in fact the last one before a two week taper.
  • Little concerned about the knees.  Two weeks ago on the long run, I had a little pain in one towards the end but I had been rough on them the day before.  Last week was fine.  This week had to stop at 14 miles and walk a few minutes.  Had a sudden jolt of pain.  Immediate stop and walk seemed to be okay after.  But I am glad we have a taper after next week.
  • I do note I tend to heel strike with one foot and mid-strike with the other (which I think is odd), and it’s the heel strike knee.
  • In theory I am supposed to run a marathon on July 1st.  However, I plan to flip right over to the next round of training after northern iowa finishes (I had no idea I’d still be keeping up with the round 1 program when I started which is why I thought doing two programs back to back was a good idea at the time).  So my current thinking is I will aim for a 20 miler that weekend to get a little taste of the wall but not shoot myself in the foot for new program (which would start on the Tuesday after).
  • Also, I’m not completely insane – not running an un-official marathon by myself just for kicks.
  • I am very much leaning to the Hal Higdon Novice 2 program for 2nd round.  It’s a little more intensive than northern iowa, but not overly so.
  • When I hit 500 miles in Run Keeper mid-week, they sent me an email.  I almost want to print it and frame it (no it’s not really special, but dang 500 miles!)
  • I ran 8 miles on my birthday.
Metric Last Week In Total
Mileage Run: 38.34 miles 528.98 miles
Longest Run: 18.52 miles 18.52 miles
Longest Run Time: 2:47:44 hh:mm:ss 2:47:44 hh:mm:ss
Longest Run Pace: 9:04 min/mile 9:04 min/mile
About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Marcia Stehouwer

    I don’t know about your program, but none of my walk programs were the full distance. And the week before the event was a pretty slow week! I think the wall is just inevitable. I sang whatever was on my Ipod at the time – My Fair Lady and Abba! It was kind of funny! All the best!

    • None of the programs I’ve seen go the full distance either.

      The issue is that I started training WAY ahead of time. So I had enough time to do a program two times in case I needed it. A less nuts person would have just timed a single program to end on their marathon.

      Since I am doing two programs back to back, but my marathon is not until Nov, I just need to decide how far I want to take it at the end of program 1 which wraps up July 1st.

Leave a Reply

