Notes From the Sleep Deprivation Experiment

So it’s been a few weeks since I posed anything of note on Wednesday, and I probably haven’t commented much on your blogs either, and even Around the Web Friday’s have been erratic.  Some of that has been I don’t have a lot new to say.  But a lot of it has to do with how busy life has been – between work and training there has not been much time or energy left to formulate a few thoughts into a post.

I’ve spent a lot of the summer in what feels like a medium term sleep deprivation experiment.  I’ve mentioned I work in IT, and we’ve been rolling out a new system to upgrade a fairly unstable existing one.  It’s been tricky work for a variety of reasons I won’t go into, but an important component of the system runs around midnight local.  Between dealing with issues with the old one and keeping an eye on the the new one, plus working hectic days dealing with issues from either there were many a week where by Saturday morning I had racked up enough sleep to count for 2-3 ‘normal’ nights for the week.  Things are calming down (a bit) now that that portion is done (with some fanfare success I add), but marathon mileage is up now.

I’m about 95% pleased with how things went during that time period.  I got my exercise in pretty consistently, tho there were a few times where I was heading down to the gym at 11:30pm (did I mention I get up at 5:40?).  I gave in to a few cravings here and there, particularly towards the end, but even then, they were much healthier.  A fair few mornings, I was dang close to an egg/bacon/cheese/butter/wrap but by the time I got there I talked myself into my current normal breakfast of toast and yogurt.  A couple of times I splurged and got myself the big yogurt with granola (about 250 calories over 80 regular ones), but not too often.  A few other times I treated myself to an extra nice salad at lunch or some bonus fruit.  Only a few times, especially towards the end did I got a little OTT with frozen yogurt a few times.

That said, I’m not too sure if I could hold out a lot longer.  It was a long summer.  See you round all!

About J.

40 year old IT guy on a health and fitness kick.

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Exercise, Food, Personal, Weight, Weight Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

